Get Help Now

HIMS Steps

It’s your decision

The first step in getting help is recognizing there is a problem.  Confidentially discussing your situation with a knowledgeable person is a great way to get started.  This discussion will help you clearly define the issues and the available options.

There are several confidential resources available to assist you:

  • Use the Pilot Referral Info Section lower on this page to contact your company’s HIMS representative.
  • ALPA members can also access information through the http://www.alpa.org website.  Log in and refer to your airline’s HIMS committee roster for contact information.  Or, log in, click on “Committees,” click on “HIMS” in the Pilot Assistance section, and click on the photo to send an email to HIMS.
  • Contact an expert aeromedical physician at Aviation Medicine Advisory Service (720) 857-6117, Monday-Friday 0830-1600 MT

Regardless of whom you contact, it’s important to actively seek help for yourself or someone you care about

Assessments and Treatment

There are a number of substance abuse assessment and treatment options available.  Generally, thorough multi-disciplinary assessments will give a better indication of the presence and progression of the disease.  Which type of assessment is satisfactory for your circumstances will depend on several factors, including FAA or company involvement and available financial support.  Your airline’s HIMS/Pilot Assistance Committee or Employee Assistance Program resource will have the most current and complete information to assist you.

There are also a variety of treatment options available.  Most companies have associations with particular treatment providers and using such providers can help limit insurance or financing problems.  In general, these providers will offer a 28-day residential treatment program per FAA requirements.  The FAA considers a minimum 28-day treatment program an essential qualification for the special issuance medical certificate.

Recovery and Monitoring

Following treatment each pilot will begin the process of FAA medical re-certification.  How long this process takes varies considerably depending on each pilot’s particular circumstances.  However, a description of a “normal” minimum timeline is available under the “FAA recertification” prompt on this website’s homepage.

If you have additional questions or require additional guidance, please contact HIMS via the link provided on this page.

HIMS AMEs

FAA list of HIMS qualified AMEs (Aviation Medical Examiners)

*Alphabetically Listed after Geographical Chart

Airline Referral Information

ABX Air
Joe Riehl
419-290-8962
Joeriehl63@gmail.com
AIR NEW ZEALAND
Chairman Simon Nicholson
+6421747300
hims.simon@gmail.com
AIR TRANSPORT INTERNATIONAL
Ruben Vazquez
407-375-9396
jetrube@gmail.com
AIR WISCONSIN  
ALASKA AIRLINES
Chairman Bob Jones &
Vice Chairmen Charles Kinney and Brent Carricaburu
Chairman Bob Jones:
435-770-8689
Bob.D.Jones@alpa.org
Vice Chairmen Charles Kinney and Brent Carricaburu:
603-973-9045 / 907-841-2283
VAPA.kinney@gmail.com / bcarricaburu@gmail.com
ALLEGIANT AIR
Brian Collins
407-619-8687
briankennethcollins@gmail.com
AMERICAN AIRLINES
Mike Galante &
Bud Hughes
Mike Galante:
239-821-8148
mgalante@alliedpilots.org
Bud Hughes:
972-896-6290
bud37@att.net
AMERIJET
Richard Carpenter
954-608-8804
rcarpenter@amerijet.com
ATLAS AIRLINES
Regis G. Conti, Jr.
954-554-8157
bdlonghorn@aol.com
CAPE AIR
Chairman Marilyn Rhude &
Vice Chair Matt Mooney & Vice Chair Angela Inman

Chairman Marilyn Rhude:
508-274-6811 
mcrhude@gmail.com
Vice Chair Matt Mooney            978-888-3351
Matt.Mooney2015@gmail.com
Vice Chair Angela Inman:
561-603-0323
inmanak@gmail.com

CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS
Laurie Shaw &
John Morris
Laurie Shaw:
61-427-747-777
laurie.shaw@hkalpa.org
John Morris:
852-9747-1440
johnejmorris@gmail.com
COMMUTAIR
Nilofer Mallick
914-475-7419
nilofer.mallick@alpa.org
COMPASS AIRLINES  
DELTA
Chairman Warren Mowry
678-357-7511
wmowry@bellsouth.net
ENDEAVOR AIR
Chairman Mike Lorenz &
Vice Chair Chris Renk
Chairman Mike Lorenz:
913-568-2846
Mike.lorenz@alpa.org
Vice Chair Chris Renk:
440-292-7689
chris.renk@alpa.org
ENVOY
Chairman Jeffrey Steele &
Vice-Chairman Braden Elrod
Chairman Jeffrey Steele:
760-500-6070 
Jeffrey.Steele@alpa.org
Vice-Chairman Braden Elrod:
512-393-4826
Braden.Elrod@alpa.org
EXPRESS JET
Chairman Greg Bryant
407-754-5744
greg.bryant@alpa.org
FED-EX
MEC HIMS Chair Marc Grassie
817-681-4757
marc.grassie@alpa.org
FRONTIER
Tom Marks &
Patrick Gordon
Tom Marks:
303-916-0776
tom.marks@alpa.org
Patrick Gordon:
319-339-0539
patrick.gordon@alpa.org
HAWAIIAN
Thomas Henderson &
Pamela Huber
Thomas Henderson:
808-341-3250
Thomasehenderson@mac.com
Pamela Huber :
808-224-6673
Pamela.Huber@alpa.org
HORIZON AIR
Chairman Steve VanLandingham
757-581-3158
steve.vanlandingham@gmail.com
JAZZ
Murray Munro
403-616-3181
Murray.munro@alpa.org
JET BLUE
Chairman and ALPA HIMS Vice Chair Billy Petersen
516-818-8495
william.petersen@alpa.org
KALITTA
Dan DePiro
732-300-1012
FLTtime@comcast.net
MESA AIRLINES
Philip Colwell
803-984-8022
philip.colwell@alpa.org
NETJETS
Chairman Tim Markley
614578-1087
tdmarkley20@gmail.com
OMNI INTERNATIONAL AIR
Cole A. Lagrand
480-747-3578
elocdnargal@yahoo.com
PIEDMONT
Roy Barker
443-614-1537
rb1817@msn.com
PSA
Eric Cadarette
404-569-2212
ecadarette@hotmail.com
REPUBLIC AIRWAYS
Derek Van Dyke
812-841-4033
D.van.dyke1@outlook.com
SKYWEST
Chairman Jeff Mandrell &
Vice Chair John Denando
Chairman Jeff Mandrell:
618-315-0518
Skywest.HIMS@gmail.com
Vice Chair John Denando:
314-283-3124
Skywest.HIMS@gmail.com
SOUTHERN AIR
Mark South
515-778-8313
msouth@southernair.com
SOUTHWEST
Chairman Tom Stanley
301-535-9871
tstanley@swapa.org
SPIRIT
Chairman Tim Helms &
Vice Chair Rick Mahoney
Chairman Tim Helms:
954-684-6967
tim.helms@alpa.org
Vice Chair Rick Mahoney:
860-977-5857
Richard.Mahoney@alpa.org
SUN COUNTRY
Peter Piazza
651-470-7263
prpiazza@comcast.net
TRANS STATES
Alan Musak MEC HIMS Chairman
314-609-2406
Alan.musak@alpa.org
UNITED AIRLINES
Chairman Margaret Hendrix &
Vice Chair Sean McKeown
Chairman Margaret Hendrix:
(815) 735-3491
margaret.hendrix@alpa.org
Vice Chair Sean McKeown:
360-471-4426
sean.mckeown@alpa.org
UPS
Chair Brad Sayles
865-300-6403
sayles.brad@yahoo.com
WEST JET
Chairman Ian Gracie
647-335-9735
ian.gracie@alpa.org